Draft Minutes of the 2025 Organizational Meeting of the Claryville Fire District

Meeting called to order by Chairman David White at 6:39 pm.

Present: Commissioners Tom Matthews, Terry McNamarra, Mike Schiffer, Dave White.

Representing the Fire Department: Paul Metzger, Glenn VanDenBerg.

Public: None

A Motion was made by Dave, Seconded by Terry to appoint Mike Schiffer as Chairman of the Board of Fire Commissioners for 2025. None Opposed.

Appoint Treasurer and set salary: Paul Metzger is appointed District Treasurer with a yearly salary of \$6,000.00. Upon Motion by Tom, Seconded by Terry. None Opposed.

Appoint Secretary and set salary: Anne-Marie Kremer is appointed District Secretary with a yearly salary of \$3,600.00. Upon Motion by Dave, seconded by Tom. None Opposed. Said Secretary is also appointed the Public Information Officer of the Claryville Fire District.

Dave White administered and verified the Oaths of Office to Paul Metzger, Treasurer; Anne-Marie Kremer, Secretary; and Terry McNamarra, Commissioner.

The Secretary will file the Oaths of Office to the Town Clerks of Denning and Neversink as required,

Resolution 1.1: Set Date and Time of Monthly Meetings

Meetings will be held the first Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm at the Claryville Fire Department Warren Cole Hall. Exception to this is the October Budget Hearing which is held October 14, 2025 followed by the regular Meeting. The Calendar is attached to these Minutes. The location and time can be changed by further resolution or by State requirement upon proper notification to the Official District publication. This Motion was made by Dave and Seconded by Mike. None Opposed.

Resolution 1.2: Appoint Attorney for the District

Tabled until February Meeting.

Resolution 1.3: Designate Official Newspaper

A motion was made by Dave, seconded by Mike, None Opposed to designate the Tri-Valley Townsman as the official Newspaper for the District.

Resolution 1.4: Memberships

A Motion was made by Dave, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed, to maintain Membership in the following Organizations:

- Association of Fire Districts of the State of New York
- Association of Fire Districts of Ulster County

- Association of Fire Districts of Sullivan County
- Firefighters Association of the State of New York
- National Fire Protection Association

Resolution 1.5 Membership

A Motion was made by Dave, Seconded by Tom , None Opposed, to maintain membership in the following Chief's Organizations:

- New York State Association of Fire Chiefs
- Ulster County Volunteer Firemen's Association
- Sullivan County Volunteer Firemen's Association
- National Fire Protection Association

Resolution 1.6:

A Motion was made by Mike, Seconded by Tom, None Opposed, to renew the annual truck house lease for \$21,600.00 to be paid in monthly installments of \$1,800.00, and the Frost Valley Truck House for \$1.00 yearly.

Resolution 2.0:

A Motion was made by Dave, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed to continue the Treasurer's authorization that within sixty (60) days after the end of the fiscal year the Treasurer will submit to the State Comptroller and the Fire Commissioners a copy of the annual report required under Municipal Law Section 30 in lieu of a written statement showing receipts and disbursements for the preceding fiscal year, and that this authorization shall remain in effect unless rescinded or replaced by the Board of Commissioners by Resolution.

Resolution 3.0: The Treasurer shall maintain Claryville Fire District Accounts with the Catskill Hudson Bank (Grahamsville Branch) subject to confirmation that the new entity is FDIC insured or equivalent and is allowed to accept Municipal Funds. The Treasurer is the signer of checks. Upon Motion by Dave, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed.

Resolution 3.1: The Chair of the Audit Committee shall have access to all bank accounts and be authorized to sign checks should the Treasurer be unavailable. Upon Motion by Dave, Seconded by Tom, None Opposed.

Resolution 4.0: Committees

The following Committees for 2024 are established Upon Motion by Dave, Seconded by Tom, None Opposed:

Budget Committee – Paul, Glenn, Tom, Terry

Audit Committee – Andy (Chair)

Policy Committee – Tom, Dave

Capital Plan and Truck Committee – Tom, Andy, Glenn, Bill Leudemann

Procurement Committee – Terry, Mike, Paul

Recruitment Committee - Larry, Jenny, Dave

Resolution 5.0:

Dave made the Motion, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed to maintain the policies reviewed by the Policy Committee. Other guidance and prior year Board Resolutions shall remain in effect as long as appropriate.

Resolution 5.1:

Mileage reimbursement Form, FOIR form, Equipment Request Form shall remain in effect unless replaced or no longer needed. Upon Motion by Dave, Seconded by Mike, None Opposed.

Fire Department Officers: A Motion was made by Tom and Seconded by Dave, None Opposed to approve the Chief Officers of the Fire Department:

Paul – Chief; John Coombs – First Assistant Chief; Glenn VanDenBerg – Second Assistant Chief; Mike Schiffer – Captain; Tom Matthews – Captain of Fire Police.

Dave made the Motion, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed to appoint Anne-Marie as Records Management Officer.

Mike made the Motion to adjourn, Seconded by Terry, None Opposed at 7:00 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Anne-Marie Kremer/Secretary